Day 7…ending with grace

I took the recyclables out a few minutes ago and I don’t remember ever not having even 1 wine or beer bottle among the other stuff. Usually it’s 3, most times it’s more. At times maybe even lots more. It’s been a lovely weekend with chores and pleasure in balance. I actually woke up this morning thinking it was Monday because time has really seemed to slow down. Definitely more in the moment.

Yesterday was a little rough but just in the sense that physically and mentally I felt all hee-bee jee-bee like. No desire to drink (so grateful for that) but just like I wanted to unzip my skin and step out of it. But this is what I don’t get- I realized that feeling was familiar just not to the degree I was feeling it and in the past, at the first hee bee I would be heading for the packie. I don’t feel deserving of any pats on the back because there were  no cravings to get through- just kind of like a physical, mental and emotional withdrawal.

I have prayed my butt off for probably a good 7 or 8 years or so to have this obsession removed. No good fortune there and I just figured He was saying to me like He said to Paul-My grace is sufficient for you“.

I feel like I’m experiencing His grace right now to be 7 days without wine and no whining. I’m also waiting for the ease of all of this to end. And if I give that thought space in my head it won’t come to any good. Right now it’s grace.

Author: Elizabeth

Living a life of unceasing prayer in gratitude to Him who saved me.

Leave a Reply

