day 13…p.a.w.s. & pause is desperately needed here

Thought I’d get a good night’s sleep last night. Awake every couple or so hours and finally gave up and got up at 4:30 am.  As it has been the past weeks. I know that a part of it is my excitement at finally doing what I’ve known I need to for a very long time. The difference is I’ve known but now the spirit is willing. It appears the flesh is as well.

For the past few years my prayers have been to grow in my love for Him. To choose Him over the wine. And all the other the things that get between us.

Today was real lousy in terms of how I felt. I felt great during the week although tired. But today felt like last Saturday only even more intensified. And I wrote how it felt like a withdrawal. So I looked up a blog I bookmarked years ago and read through.

P.A.W.S.   Post Acute Withdrawal Symptoms

Very sobering read. If indeed this is what I am experiencing, I definitely need to cut my full speed ahead approach. It’s exhausting me. Tech devices do not agree with my energy field-seems to suck the life force from me. Still no cravings or desire to drink. If anything, after reading through this article my resolve has been strengthened more than ever.

The prescription I wrote myself  today was permission to accomplish only the absolute necessities and to rest.

Taking a long epsom/sea salt and lavender soak was just what I needed.

Author: Elizabeth

Living a life of unceasing prayer in gratitude to Him who saved me.

6 thoughts on “day 13…p.a.w.s. & pause is desperately needed here”

  1. I’m still learning what self -care is! But I am allowing myself to do that even when it is uncomfortable. Luckily I have never had trouble sleeping.I did feel some anxiety but that happens when I project should into my life.I am working on mindfulness and being in the present.

    Like

  2. I am on my 49th day and I can say that I still have a lot of anxiety. It gets easier as time goes on, but it isn’t as easy as I thought it was gonna be, lol. Not that I thought it was going to be a walk in the park. Rest is good, I need to remember how to do that for myself. Nice post. : )

    Like

    1. Thank you 27. Right now I’m trying to set a limit and get off this computer. Setting limits for myself is discipline that I need to cultivate. So inspiring to see you making such healthy choices for yourself at 27. I’m rooting for you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

