48 days…’probably'(or not) ain’t good enough

It went something like this:  ‘Well, you know, since you have no desire to drink you could probably have a glass of wine with dinner at the Christmas party.  No really, I mean one- ok, maybe two.  Definitely not more than two or three.  You probably could. Don’t ‘ya think?’

Maybe next year- see ‘ya. So long.  Bye-bye. 

This was the rambling that started rolling around my brain.   There was no charge associated with the thoughts but I needed to cut it off.  Reassuring the wine baby we’d revisit it next year did just that.  For a time.

Temptation begins with thoughts.  And thoughts lead to actions.  Bad actions and poor choices.

“We destroy arguments and every proud obstacle raised up against the knowledge of God, and we take every thought captive to obey Christ.”….  2 Corinthians 10:5

There are many different translations according to which bible you have open. Some say:  We tear down, We overthrow or We demolish arguments. Others say: We pull down reasonings, We destroy speculations or We cast down imaginations (my favorite).

With regard to ‘every proud obstacle’: every lofty thing, every high thing or high-minded thing, every pretension or every presumption.

I can not afford the luxury of entertaining any thoughts regarding alcohol.  Not too hard to imagine the hold they could take.  After receiving this miracle which has removed all desire to drink,  it would be proud, arrogant and just plain stupid of me to think otherwise.    I’ve been real slow to learn and He’s worked long and hard with me. Feels like it would be spitting in the face of God.

I don’t want to continue to be like that dog returning to his vomit.  Been there way too many times.  I’m done.

Author: Elizabeth

Living a life of unceasing prayer in gratitude to Him who saved me.

3 thoughts on “48 days…’probably'(or not) ain’t good enough”

  1. Me too Elizabeth. I rarely allow myself to even entertain the thoughts of drinking…I find it helpful to run the story through to the end if the cravings get going. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

