76 days “the world compares me…

to my neighbor but God compares me to my former self.”   Matthew Kelly

Watching  ‘It’s the Great Pumpkin’ (so corny!) and drinking Kombucha tea, my favorite sober drink.  Yes it’s Saturday night.  And yes, I’m absolutely content.

Great ending to an outstanding week.  My prayers have been answered with regard to my boss.  Rather they’ve been answered regarding my ability to respond in a new way to my boss.  As opposed to last week, this week he was appreciative, considerate and respectful.

Instead of my knee jerk reactions of “right back atcha'” in response to his belittling behavior toward me, I had tried extremely hard (and succeeded) in just letting things slide and keeping my mouth shut.  Two wrongs never make a right.  They only make a bigger, uglier wrong that’s hard to mend.

So now I would like to respond with love and compassion;   I’d like my heart to get in on it.  Have it turn from stone to flesh.  “Letting things slide” and “keeping my mouth shut” are all well and good but come on, really?  Sounds more like survivor mode.  Still trying to save myself.

The Lord deserves much more of me than that.  My boss does too.

The thing of it is, if I were still drinking I would not be here trying to work this out.  Nope.  I would have opened another bottle of red whine and nothing would ever change.

Not me.  Not him.

Grateful to be sober another day.  Thanks be to God.

Author: Elizabeth

Living a life of unceasing prayer in gratitude to Him who saved me.

6 thoughts on “76 days “the world compares me…”

  1. Thank you so much for posting. I have often prayed to God for a heart of flesh not of stone…
    I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. Ezekiel 36:26
    I want to share with you one of my anchoring Bible Verse:
    Do NOT conform to the pattern of this world, but be TRANSFORMED by the RENEWING of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.
    Romans 12:2
    Your words are like a bubbling spring in a parched desert to me.
    I struggle with my alcohol addiction but “lean on His changing grace”.
    Loving you,
    Sterling

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Colossians 3:12-14English Standard Version (ESV)

    12 Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, 13 bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. 14 And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Defensiveness was so much a part of my drinking. I can see that in myself as I read what you wrote. But drinking also kept me unable to effectively deal with anything. It felt like power to have a few drinks and complain about someone, but in the end, it kept me trapped.
    My favorite prayer is “I put the future in the hands of God.” Then I don’t have to worry about anything. A power greater than myself is in charge, and I no longer have to worry about it.
    I’m glad I found your blog, Elizabeth. ; )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

