The first son and overcoming ourselves

Reading the lives of the saints, we are struck by the presence of turning points when these lovers of Christ took up the great challenge.  Their love of the good was so great that they staked their lives to win the battle against the evils which surrounded them.  As a result of this same “all or nothing” attachment to the good, they were able to overcome in themselves every fault which would make them lazy, inept, betraying servants of Christ…

If life may be pictured as a battle between the forces of good and evil without and within, what must be the fate of the good side if its soldiers become lazy, sleepy and so sure of victory that they do not even notice the enemy creeping into their own ranks?  So, by analogy, those who imagine that their fervent moments of love for Christ will last forever, and that they will speedily become apostles of love, mock as fanatical the saints’ insistence on watching every thought, word and deed.

If we wish to love with all the intensity our being, then we must be ready to sacrifice all things which prevent us from being loving every moment of the day.

Ronda Chervin, convert from Judaism, professor of philosophy and theology and author-   Title and excerpt taken from Magnificat, Vol. 18, No. 10/Meditation of the Day 12/13/16

Author: Elizabeth

Living a life of unceasing prayer in gratitude to Him who saved me.

3 thoughts on “The first son and overcoming ourselves”

  1. Wow, no challenge there. ; ) On the exciting side, many of the saints had absolute moments of ecstasy beyond anything we can image. Let’s shoot for that!
    Seriously, I do find it hard hard hard to give up creature comforts. I’ve heard of people going on retreats, etc., where they do exactly that, but I’ve never tried it. This does give me something to think about for the new year, however.
    Thanks, Elizabeth!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome Shawna. I plan on writing about what this meditation meant to me at the time- I’m just flat out now and it takes me hours to put down even a few paragraphs (perfectionism). I think He wants for us to have physical (what I think of as creature) comfort-most of us, thanks be to God, are not called to be martyrs – it’s more of the spiritual comforts i.e. “I’ve arrived” and complacency. Much like what can happen in sobriety! Me: guilty as charged. Although for me, I’m not sure it was complacency as much as putting “my” will in place and building from there. Not sure I’m making sense to anyone but me here –

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, you’re making perfect sense to me. I can be a very reluctant follower. It’s hard to pull me out of my comfort zone, so that limits me. I’m going to have to practice more consistenly to get used to getting “out there” again. I’ve been sort of hibernating in sobriety. (Blogging is a great example. No interaction necessary!)
        I look forward to reading you next post. ; )

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

