My prayer for 2017…and the rest of my god given days

“My Lord God I have no idea where I am going.

I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end.

Nor do I really know myself…

and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so.

But I believe that my desire to please you does in fact please you. And I hope that I have that desire in all that I am doing. I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire.

And I know that if I do this you will lead me by the right road though I may know nothing about it.

Therefore will I trust you always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death. I will not fear, for you are ever with me, and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.”

Thomas Merton, Trappist Monk

Grateful for day 2.

Thanks be to God.

Author: Elizabeth

Living a life of unceasing prayer in gratitude to Him who saved me.

8 thoughts on “My prayer for 2017…and the rest of my god given days”

    1. Amen! Sister. Feeling peace, joy and love. Spent a few hours with my dear friend, mentor and lover of the Lord. We laughed. A lot. Haven’t been reading any of the many new posts I’ve seen. Got a bit of catching up to do. In time. Looking forward to reading what other’s have been up to including you!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I believe Thomas Merton was big in to contemplative prayer, a form of meditation. Listening and letting God do the talking, something which we all need to learn to do better. I had a dear friend, she has passed now, who introduced me to the fathers of contemplative prayer. I looked in to it briefly. Seeing this has reminded me to go back to that place again. Thank You for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In my 20’s I learned Transcendental Meditation. The Christian version of this is Centering Prayer. Wonderful book on CP is Intimacy with God by Thomas Keating . Also Divine Therapy and Addiction: Centering Prayer and the 12 Steps, which I just discovered but not yet read. He also was, I believe, a Trappist Monk. Enjoy! Keep me posted. Hugs.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

